Arkansas Civil Court Records Lookup

The following is for information purposes only

Arkansas Civil Court Records

The type of civil dispute and the seriousness of the matters in Arkansas will determine which court will hear the case. There are four different levels of courts in Arkansas: the District Courts, Circuit Courts, Court of Appeals, and the Supreme Court.

The State District Courts mainly handle cases involving tort and contract disputes with a maximum value of $5,000 for local judgeships and $25,000 for state judgeships.

Arkansas Circuit Courts are courts of broad jurisdiction. It handles tort and contract disputes under $100, probate and estate disputes, and other civil proceedings. In addition, the court hears special sessions for mental health and civil appeals.

The Arkansas Court of Appeals, formed in 1979 by state law, aims to reduce the Supreme Court's responsibility. Unsatisfied parties can ask the Court of Appeals to reconsider lower court rulings on their civil cases.

Arkansas's highest court is the Arkansas Supreme Court. In addition to hearing appeals of cases from lower courts, the Arkansas Supreme Court also makes rules for the practice of law in the state.

In most civil cases in Arkansas, the pleadings set out the parties' claims. Plaintiffs seek damages and the recovery of personal property valued at less than $25,000. However, they must file these pleas within a specific timeframe.

Broken contracts have a five-year statute of limitations, whereas defamation has one. Damages to personal property filing must be within three years following an oral agreement.

Are civil court records public in Arkansas? Section 25-19-103 of the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) in the state asserts that any records created during the performance of official responsibilities using public monies are public documents.

What Are Arkansas Bankruptcy Records?

Arkansas Bankruptcy Records are papers containing information about a debtor's finances at the time of bankruptcy filing. As required by 11 USC 107, Arkansas bankruptcy documents are public records.

The Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure and the United States Bankruptcy Code regulate bankruptcy proceedings in the state. As bankruptcy matters come within the exclusive jurisdiction of federal courts, the filing must be in a federal district court.

The results of bankruptcy will depend on the debtor's chosen form. The debtor may apply for bankruptcy under Chapters 7, 11, or 13. A Chapter 7 bankruptcy entails liquidating the debtor's non-exempt assets to settle obligations.

In both Chapter 11 and Chapter 13 bankruptcies, the debtor must make monthly payments toward a court-approved repayment plan. Although Chapter 11 bankruptcy applies to persons and companies, Chapter 13 bankruptcy is exclusive to individuals.

In Arkansas, debtors who want to file for bankruptcy may do so at any bankruptcy court site that serves their residence or place of business.

After filing, the information will be part of the Arkansas Bankruptcy Records. They include the debtor's expenses, gross income, assets, and liabilities.

You can get Arkansas Bankruptcy Records online, by mail, or by going to the courthouse. You can use the Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER) to get these records online for a fee. You must first sign up for an account. After signing up, you can look at, download, and print the case and docket information you want.

What Are Arkansas Property Lien Records?

Arkansas liens are legal claims on a debtor's property to secure payments. When filed against a debtor's property, a lien requires the debtor to repay a debt to clear the title of their property.

Arkansas Property Lien Records may include a variety of information since there are several forms of property liens in the state, including:

Tax Lien

A tax lien in Arkansas is a statutory lien placed on a person's property for failing to pay Arkansas state taxes.

In Arkansas, the Commissioner of State Lands is responsible for recuperating tax through selling or seeking to purchase confiscated properties. Failure to pay property tax, estate tax, income tax, or even gift tax may result in a tax lien. A tax lien appears on a person's credit report and harms credit ratings.

Judgment Lien

A judgment lien in Arkansas allows a creditor to recover a certain sum from selling a debtor's real property, such as land, condominiums, and homes, after a court-approved settlement. In Arkansas, a judgment lien remains active on a debtor's property for about ten years, regardless of changes in property ownership.

Mechanic's Lien

Mechanic's lien covers unpaid labor and material expenditures associated with building projects. In Arkansas, the uncompensated workers or material suppliers for construction or building work may file a mechanic's lien to assert a claim against the property.

Mortgage Lien

A mortgage lien comes from utilizing property to secure a loan. According to Arkansas Code 18-49-103, if the borrower fails on the loan, the lender can lawfully seize the collateral as repayment. It is a voluntary lien, so the mortgagor willingly accepts it as loan security.

UCC Lien

Filings under the Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) allow creditors to inform other creditors about a debtor's collateral used for a secured transaction. The filing of a UCC lien with the Secretary of State serves as a public notification of the creditor's claim on the property.

When extending credit to customers, construction workers and material suppliers in Arkansas often utilize UCC liens to ensure payment.

Real estate investors, homebuyers, lenders, and other parties interested in discovering liens may do a public records search at the Circuit Clerks' offices or the Secretary of State's office to check if a property has a lien in Arkansas.

The information retrievable from Arkansas Property Lien Records typically includes the following:

  • The filing date and time
  • The names of the debtor and creditor
  • Lien type
  • The sum due
  • Scanned pictures of documents

In most instances, liens remain on a debtor's property until the payment of the obligation. However, due to the legal nature of certain liens, they may expire after the enforcement term has expired, even if the debt remains unpaid.

In Arkansas, tax and judgment liens are valid for ten years from the filing date, whereas mechanic's liens expire after 15 months. But note that most statutory liens in the state are renewable before the expiration date.

What Are Arkansas Civil Driving Violation Records?

Arkansas Civil Driving Violation Records are official papers documenting a subject's traffic infractions in the state. These are traffic violations that only have non-criminal penalties. Rather than criminal records, these offenses will show up in the state traffic record.

Some of the civil traffic infractions in Arkansas under this record include:

  • Driving too fast
  • Running a red light
  • Not giving way to a pedestrian
  • Driving while texting
  • Disregarding traffic-controlling measures
  • Some parking violations

An Arkansas citation might appear on a person's record depending on the violation. If someone in Arkansas gets a ticket for a traffic violation, they usually have to go to court to face the charges. The driver might also have to pay a fine or do community service.

Additionally, the citation has corresponding points on the driving record. These points can cause your insurance rates to go up and may eventually cause license suspension.

In Arkansas, the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), the Department of Transportation (ArDOT), the state courts, and the Office of Driver Services, which is part of the Department of Finance and Administration (DFA), are all in charge of making and keeping these records.

You can look at Arkansas Civil Driving Violation Records online through the state's Public CourtConnect website of the Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC) or in person at the Court Clerk's office.

The search tool gives case information from the District Court, Court of Appeals, Circuit Courts, and Supreme Court. You can search for records by person, case information, judgment, case filing date, or docket filing date.

What Are Arkansas Legal Judgment Records?

The Arkansas Legal Judgment Records detail a court's ruling in criminal and civil matters filed within its jurisdiction. Depending on the kind of case, orders establish the legal rights of a person, require a party to meet particular responsibilities, and impose penalties. This order becomes legally binding when the court clerk writes the judgment record.

In Arkansas, many laws govern civil court judgments, and these are:

To acquire judgment records in Arkansas, contact or visit the Court Clerk's office that issued the judgment. This court often sits in the county where the offense happened or where the defendant resides. The court personnel will need the case number and litigants' names to locate and acquire the case file.

The court staff must create standard copies of the judgment record upon retrieval unless you explicitly request a certified copy.

You can also access Arkansas civil court records through Arkansas CourtConnect. However, only the participating courts can access digital versions of Arkansas Legal Judgment Records. Regardless of how the parties received it, a typical judgment record includes the litigants' names, the issued judgment, and a case history summary.

What Are Arkansas Small Claims Records?

All documents, exhibits, recordings, and motions prepared, filed, or presented during a small claims action constitute the Arkansas Small Claims Records. In courthouses, district court clerks preserve these records.

Small claims are small cases heard in Arkansas's Small Claims Courts, which are part of the District Court system. It handles disagreements worth less than $5,000.

In a Small Claims Court in Arkansas, you can recover damages to personal property, get your security deposit back, pay back a loan, or sue over a contract.

People over the age of 18 can go to small claims courts. Parents, older family members, or older friends can help minors file small claims and go to court hearings on their behalf. At small claims hearings, lawyers don't have to be there. Only Arkansas Civil District Court handles small claims matters that need attorneys.

Those who disagree with a small claims court judgment in Arkansas may appeal to their local Circuit Court. Filing of appeals must be within 30 days of the docket date. Otherwise, the party loses the right to appeal.

If you want to look up Arkansas Small Claims Records, contact the Court Clerk's Office or the records department of the court where the case began. In a formal written request, you have to give basic case information like the case number and parties' names to see the records.

The AOC Public CourtConnect system can look at basic case information from Arkansas Small Claims Records.

What Are Arkansas Divorce Court Records?

Arkansas Divorce Court Records include all pertinent divorce information, such as the parties' names and the divorce conditions. It may consist of private information about children, money, and sensitive criminal information such as domestic violence. Most of the time, they are necessary as proof of divorce and for other legal reasons.

Arkansas is a fault-based divorce state. Therefore, the plaintiff must establish grounds for the divorce. General indignities and separation for 18 months are the most typical causes of divorce in the state.

For a divorce to happen in Arkansas, one person must have lived in the state for at least 60 days before the person can file for it. Before the court can decide who gets child custody and visitation, they must live in Arkansas for six months.

After filing, the information provided by both parties will be part of the Arkansas Divorce Court Records. These records are typically in the form of:

Divorce Certificate

A divorce certificate in Arkansas is a paper that verifies the dissolution of a marriage. It lists the divorced parties, the date, and the place of separation. Typically, remarriage and name changes necessitate this document. Visit the Arkansas Department of Health to get a copy of your divorce certificate.

Divorce Decree

In Arkansas, the court drafts and issues the divorce decree. It includes divorce terms such as custody information, property partition, and spousal support obligations, including alimony and child support information. Typically, divorce decrees are comprehensive and include all agreed-upon facts between the parties.

Divorce Record

A divorce record in Arkansas is a collection of papers outlining the divorce process. This document contains information from the divorce certificate, decree, and every file throughout the procedure. The main legal objective in obtaining this record in the state is to appeal divorce judgments.

Arkansas County Clerks and Circuit Court Clerks manage divorce records. To get Arkansas Divorce Court Records (Divorce Record and Divorce Decree), visit the court where the divorce occurred.

You can also send a letter by mail to the county clerk or clerk of the circuit to obtain copies of these records.

Lastly, you can use the AOC CourtConnect to see Arkansas Divorce Court Records online. Using this portal, you can search these records by person, date, and case number. It is important to note that Arkansas publishes a limited number of divorce records online.

What Are Arkansas Probate Court Records?

Probate is a legal procedure that permits the courts to oversee the distribution of a deceased person's assets.

Arkansas does not adopt the Uniform Probate Code. However, each state has its statute that governs probate proceedings. Chapter 28 of the Arkansas Code addresses the state's probate regulations and prohibitions. Probate is necessary if the deceased was the only property owner in Arkansas.

You can find forms on the Arkansas courts website, like the guardian's bond and petition for will probate. To begin, you will submit a petition for probate in the county where the deceased person resided or where their property sits if they were from another state.

After filing formal probate, the Chancery Court in Arkansas makes probate court records, and the county clerk keeps them up to date.

Once you obtain Arkansas Probate Court Records, it typically covers the following:

  • Will
  • Appointments of administrators
  • Court-ordered estate inventory
  • Records of an estate sale
  • Administrator or executor accounts
  • Guardianship appointments and accounts
  • Final account
  • A list of heirs

How To Look Up Civil Court Cases in Arkansas?

You can find most Arkansas civil court cases online through the state's CourtConnect case management system. On this platform, you can find the decisions of the Arkansas Supreme Court and the Court of Appeals.

In this system, the counties of Benton, Baxter, Calhoun, Boone, and Carrol provide online Arkansas civil court records for their Circuit Courts. In addition, the counties of Faulkner, Crawford, Garland, Hot Spring, and Van Buren also retain their district court documents online.

However, only partial court records for Arkansas, Desha, Bradley, Lafayette, and Perry counties are currently accessible online.

If the case or record is not accessible online, the best way is to visit the county court. For a fee, you can get copies of Arkansas civil court records upon submitting all the requirements.